I need another overdrive tone...

Discuss standard production effect pedals

I need another overdrive tone...

Postby GuitarMD » Sat May 09, 2009 7:07 pm

Hello fellow Barber Pedal connoisseurs. I am a singer/rhythm guitarist with a descent rig but I am looking for something more ;)

I am looking for another overdrive sound - around the same amount of gain as my Barber LTD but just with some different character.

This is my setup:
Stratocaster --> Barber Launch Pad (always on but set low) --> Tone Press (on for cleans only) --> Barber LTD (on for an OD) --> BBE Sonic Stomp.
I run this into a modded Fender Blues Deluxe and Orange Tiny Terror. Both amps are setup on the edge of breakup.

I use the Tone Press for cleans.
I use the LTD for an overdrive tone.
The other two pedals are always on as part of my basic setup.

I am thinking of either the Barb E.Q. or Barber DD Low Gain.

Please let me know what your thoughts and recommendations are.
~GuitarMD~
Fender Stratocaster with Fralin Blues Specials and Fralin Unbucker -->
Barber LP + TP + LTD + E.Q. + BBE Sonic Stomp -->
Modded Fender Blues Deluxe with Dallman Reverb + 12AY7s & 6V6s --> 2 Celestion Greenbacks
Modded Orange Tiny Terror --> Celestion V30 + H30
GuitarMD

Re: I need another overdrive tone...

Postby mjcyates » Sat May 09, 2009 8:38 pm

I have the Barb EQ, I had the DDLG. Both are great pedals, however, if it was me and I had your current setup I would go with the new Custom Super Sport.
Musicman Silhouette, Reverend Warhawk, Fender Telecaster ('78), Fender Hot Rod Deluxe with Texas Heat, Blackheart Little Giant combo
Barber Tone Press, Barber Direct Drive, Barber Dirty Bomb, Barber LTD v1, Barber Barb EQ, Barber Tone Pump EQ, Garagetone Drivetrain, Nova Repeater, Ernie Ball Vp Jr., Korg Pitchblack
mjcyates

Postby GuitarMD » Sat May 09, 2009 9:17 pm

mjcyates,

Have you used your Barb E.Q. (in the right toggle setting) as an overdrive with your rig?