Pedals with buffers?

Discuss internal affairs of pedals, guitars, amps and components etc...
Not focused on DIY.

Pedals with buffers?

Postby jacobaf105 » Mon Apr 05, 2010 6:32 pm

Ok I am pretty new to the true bypass pedals and bufferd pedals, and pedals in general (boss,ibanez,etc). I have a boss bd2 that I like the sound but it really sucks my tone/volume when its off. I see there are DIY bypass kits that I can make, wondering if I make this would it help with the tone sucking? I wont be using many pedals just maybe a compressor and a OD or 2 from baber I might add. Just wondering if I make the bypass and use the BD-2 on my board would this help with the tone sucking? and if all my pedals are all true bypass if I say I have 4 or 5 pedals would I still have the same problem? just trying to get a better understanding on what a bufferd pedal is, the website I found to make the true bypass, they recommend the use of a line driver (buffer) when using this.
fender 72 deluxe tele, barber tonepress, digitech gsp 1101, peavey nashville 1000, rocktron velocity 300 and eminence big ben.
jacobaf105

Re: Pedals with buffers?

Postby fatteletom » Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:06 pm

jacobaf105 wrote:I have a boss bd2 that I like the sound but it really sucks my tone/volume when its off.

Hmm, the BD-2 *is* a buffered pedal. So, it should be giving you all the benefits of a buffer already (although some people like to have buffers at both ends of the pedal chain).

I know some folks say they don't like the "tone" of the Boss buffers. I've never noticed any significant issue with my BD-2, but I can't speak for what other people hear.

However, I can't think of any reason for you to notice a *volume* difference depending on whether or not the BD-2 is in your signal path. If that's really happening, I think something must be wrong somewhere. Have you tried a direct comparison of:

guitar->cable->amp

against

guitar->cable->BD-2->cable->amp